Avoid Guilt And Suffering When On Diet

Mrinal Walia
3 min readJun 5, 2022

Anonymous suggested in a DM on my Detox Diet post that I’m detoxing because I feel guilty about eating the muffin, so I want to make myself suffer. Now, this is an exciting thought, and I felt like exploring.

https://images.unsplash.com/photo-1606103897759-4ea5eea942b2?ixlib=rb-1.2.1&ixid=MnwxMjA3fDB8MHxwaG90by1wYWdlfHx8fGVufDB8fHx8&auto=format&fit=crop&w=774&q=80

Guilt — yes! I do feel guilty.

I felt guilty about not riding last Sunday because it was raining, and I couldn’t muster the motivation to get on the rollers.

I also feel guilty that I took a baby sparrow from its nest almost thirty days ago and brought it home. I lied to my parents that it must have fallen out of its nest and that I had found it in the grass, abandoned. I so wanted a pet, and little did I know that I wouldn’t be able to keep up collecting little worms to keep it alive.

I cried a lot when the little bird died. There are some hearts I carelessly broke in my student days, and I feel guilty about that (a little … maybe), and guilt is definitely a constant feeling when I think of my parents some 12,000 km away (I am in Canada and my parents are in India)…

It is correct that I make myself suffer quite a bit (when I’m well enough), and if you are a competitive cyclist, you’ll be with me on this one.

If I wouldn’t make myself suffer in intensive training sessions, then others will make me suffer in races (more often than they do already…

--

--

Mrinal Walia

Data Scientist and a Technical Writer! I will give you the best of Open-Source and AI.