Old Fashioned Oatmeal vs. Instant Oatmeal

Oats are a species of incredibly healthy cereal and whole grain. It is an excellent source of many vitamins, fibres, and minerals if you can distinguish between old oatmeal and instant oatmeal.

Mrinal Walia
3 min readSep 1, 2022
Source

In trying to find ways to manage both my hunger and my weight, I finally hit upon the idea that eating high-fibre foods might be the best thing I could try. That’s when I started reading about old-fashioned oatmeal. According to my reading, the average Canadian gets about half of the fibre in their diet. They should anyway, and fibre helps keep you feeling full. Is this a way to make oatmeal healthy again?

Comparing Old Fashioned Oatmeal vs. Instant Oatmeal

I don’t like most of the flavoured microwavable oatmeal on the market. The little packs of flavoured stuff you pop in the microwave for 30-seconds — I think they taste like flavoured mush. Too soggy. The traditional “instant oatmeal” most of us grew up eating is much more palatable. Recently, however, I’ve discovered steel-cut oats, also known as “old-fashioned oatmeal.” You may also see it as “Irish steel cut oatmeal” or “pinhead oats.” As oatmeal goes, this stuff is the cat’s meow. Healthy oatmeal has far better…

--

--

Mrinal Walia

Data Scientist and a Technical Writer! I will give you the best of Open-Source and AI.