How Much Fat Should You Eat Per Day?

I’ve started to learn there are a variety of advantages to closely monitoring your caloric intake beyond the basic “how much food have I eaten today….”

Mrinal Walia
3 min readSep 26, 2022

There’s a bias against fat in our society. Everyone shouts the no-fat or low-fat mantra. But, after taking a few weeks to understand my daily calorie distribution, I’ve learned the whole bias against fat is wrong-headed. It’s entirely off base. The eating habits that led me to lose nearly 60 lbs, and keep it off for over four years, have included consuming an average of 20–30% of my daily calories from fat. So, how much fat should I (or you) eat each day?

How Much Fat Should You Eat Per Day?

We tend to think of this question as “grams of fat per day” It doesn’t make much sense, but it has to do with the media’s presentation of the number. But, after taking some time to use an online nutritional calculator, I’ve figured out that the bias against fat is nothing…

--

--

Mrinal Walia

Data Scientist and a Technical Writer! I will give you the best of Open-Source and AI.